Tags

, , , , , ,

It’s been a while since I last posted, but I’ve been SO busy since being back at university. No excuse, I know, but don’t judge me too harshly!

Anyway, Jake Mattison is worth the wait. I was lucky enough to see him at Swn Festival a few weeks ago, and his was definitely one of the stand-out performances of the whole weekend. He held the whole room captivated with his brilliant voice and his own brand of folk-meets-Americana.

Sorrow is Mattison’s first single, and it is surely a sign of great things to come. Although there are a lot of singer-songwriters out there trying to breathe new life into the folk scene at the moment, there’s something quite different and refreshing about this single. Perhaps it’s the honesty of the lyrics, or the fact that it is so unashamedly stripped-back.

