Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Step Up For The Cool Cats was played for the first time earlier this evening on Radio One as Zane Lowe’s “Hottest Record in the World”. It’s only their third single to date, but that’s enough to have made Palma Violets one of the most exciting bands in the UK at the moment.

And what is there not to love about this song? It has the same wonderfully summery vibe that the band’s previous two singles, Best Of Friends and Last Of The Summer Wine,  had. It’s got plenty of nostalgia, with faded vocals and wistful lyrics like “you got me dancing in the sun”. This, along with all the cries and hollers thrown in,  almost makes it feel like we’re listening to them at a festival. I don’t know about you, but I’m pretty much sick of winter and more than ready for a festival, so I might just close my eyes, stick this on repeat and pretend I’m lying in a muddy field! That’s almost the same thing, right?

I was lucky enough to interview the brilliant Palma Violets for CUTV back in October, you can see the whole thing here!

Palma Violet’s debut album, 180, is out 25th February, and will feature Step Up For The Cool Cats as well as previous singles Best Of Friends and Last Of The Summer Wine.

