Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

This song is completely addictive. At just under 2 minutes in length, when Long Hair is over I can’t help but hit replay. I’m just left wanting more.

The debut single from New York-based band The Drowners (named after the song by Suede), this is one of the most exciting new songs that I’ve heard in a long time. I can’t quite put my finger on why, but it’s probably something to do with the way the band’s classic Brit-pop influences and chilled American vibes (anyone else hear the surf-pop in there?) blend together so perfectly.

And the band themselves? Well, look at them, they’re just achingly cool. In their oh-so-rock-and-roll video, lead singer (and model) Matt Hitt and co seem to switch from one drinking spot to the next – accompanied by a few famous pals (hey there, Alexa Chung). Oh, and Hitt is originally from Wales. I don’t know why that’s important, but I feel like it makes the band appeal even more to me.

Long Hair is due to be release on February 4th on the band’s debut EP, Between Us Girls.

